Rallying to the Challenge is a meeting designed for and by people with Parkinson’s, advocates and care partners to explore how the Parkinson’s community can impact and accelerate research.

Each year the meeting takes an aspect of Parkinson’s research and discusses how people living with the condition can support and influence work in this area.

This year the theme for the meeting is ‘GBA1 and LRRK2 – From Genetic Risk to the Clinic’ mirroring the theme of Van Andel Institute’s ‘Grand Challenges in Parkinson’s Disease’. Please note that due to the pandemic, the Rallying to the Challenge 2021 meeting will be virtual:

Details

Date
7 & 8 October 2021
Cost
No charge
Type
Cure Parkinson’s Event
Book your free place here
Date and time
Thurs. 7 October
9.00am EDT
2.00pm BST
Welcome and opening comments
Shaun Hindley, Team Spark
9.05am EDT
2.05pm BST
What do we mean by ‘From Genetic Risk to the Clinic’. The drug discovery journey
Dr Kevin McFarthing
Where can patient involvement really add value?
Dr Soania Mathur, PD Avengers
Discussion – Where can you help on the journey?
9.45am EDT
2.45pm BST
Heterogeneity in clinical trials – The pipeline of genetic clinical trials
Dr Richard Wyse
10.10am EDT
3.10pm BST
‘Stretch and Move’ – with thanks to the Davis Phinney Foundation
10.20am EDT
3.20pm BST
The value of LRRK2 and GBA research: Why are they important therapeutic targets?
What is the potential benefit to the broader Parkinson’s community?
Dr Simon Stott
10.40am EDT
3.40pm BST
What are LRRK2 and GBA Parkinson’s: An overview
Dr Laurie Sanders
11.05am EDT
4.05pm BST
‘Stretch and Move’ – with thanks to the Davis Phinney Foundation
11.15am EDT
4.15pm BST
A personal story: Carrying LRRK2, my research involvement journey
Jessi Keavney, PD Avenger
11.45am EDT
4.45pm BST
Live Q & A
Date and time
Friday 8 October
9.00am EDT
2.00pm BST
Welcome and opening comments
Shaun Hindley, Team Spark
9.05am EDT
2.05pm BST
Drug discovery for genetic forms of Parkinson’s in clinical trials
Marc Van Grieken (Dundee Research Interest Group) interviews Dario Alessi, Miratul Muquit and Esther Sammler
9.30 am EDT
2.30pm BST
The need, opportunities and challenges in Africa:  genetic data collection – an urgent need
Omotola Thomas, Parkinson’s Africa with Mie Rizig, UCL London
10.00am EDT
3.00pm BST
‘Stretch and Move’ – with thanks to the Davis Phinney Foundation
10.10am EDT
3.10pm BST
Data collection: concerns and opportunities: survey findings
Team Spark with Dr Leah Mursaleen (recap)
10.30am EDT
3.30pm BST
PD Frontline:
Bev Maydon interviews Prof Tony Schapira and Dr Stephen Mullin about online data collection and the need for consent
10.50am EDT
3.50pm BST
‘Stretch and Move’ – with thanks to the Davis Phinney Foundation
11.05am EDT
4.05pm BST
The Need for a YOPD genetic registry and the efforts to create one
Gaynor Edwards, Spotlight YOPD
11.30am EDT
4.30pm BST
The Final Say
The PD Avengers
11.50am EDT
4.50pm BST
Live Q & A

Join the conversation

Rallying to the Challenge will be held virtually again in 2021, offering a unique opportunity to get involved from wherever you are. Join the Rallying Facebook Group ahead of our virtual meeting and post your comments and questions; we’ll do our best to answer as many as possible.

Join the Rallying Facebook Group

How helpful was this content?

/ 5. Vote count: